Bayhawks' Westervelt Renews Contract for 2012

By MLL Public Relations |  2/15/12 1:40 PM

Bayhawks' Westervelt Renews Contract for 2012


Contact: Aly Morrissey
Major League Lacrosse

Bayhawks Attackman Drew Westervelt Renews Contract for 2012 MLL Season

BOSTON, Mass. (Wednesday, February 15, 2012)– Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, announced Wednesday that Chesapeake Bayhawks Attackman Drew Westervelt has renewed his contract for the 2012 MLL season.

The University of Maryland-Baltimore County (UMBC) alumnus is entering his first year with the Bayhawks, his sixth year with the league. Westervelt was acquired by the Bayhawks in an off-season trade with the Denver Outlaws that sent him to Chesapeake in exchange for defenseman Joe Cinosky and midfielder Jeremy Sieverts.

“Drew is a proven goal scorer and an All-Star,” said Bayhawks General Manager Brian Reese of the October 2011 trade. “He will help add another great shooter to our offense. He is one of the most consistent scorers in the MLL and will be a huge asset in transition and to our extra man offense.  We are excited to add him to our team.”

Westervelt, a Baltimore, Md. native, was Denver’s first round selection and the fourth overall pick in the 2007 MLL Collegiate Draft. Throughout his MLL career, Westervelt has tallied 114 goals, six 2-point goals, and 59 assists, totaling 180 points for the Denver Outlaws over five seasons. A two-time All-Star, Westervelt has seen play in the MLL playoffs three times with the team.

With a decorated college career at UMBC, Westervelt was the nation's fifth-leading scorer his senior year with 71 points (35 goals, 36 assists) in 17 games and an average of 4.18 points per game. He was ranked third in the country with 2.12 assists per game. He totaled 206 points in his four-year collegiate career, which ranks third in school history.

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June of 2001 and will enter its twelfth season in 2012.  MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of eight teams: The Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Hamilton Nationals, Long Island Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers.

The 2012 season will commence on April 28, 2012. More information about the league can be found at, Facebook or Twitter.

04/23 5:00PM EST @ Blaze Buy Tickets More Info
04/29 7:30PM EST vs Launch More Info
05/12 7:30PM EST vs Cannons More Info
05/21 7:30PM EST vs Outlaws More Info
05/28 6:00PM EST @ Rattlers More Info
06/03 7:30PM EST vs Hounds More Info
06/11 7:30PM EST vs Rattlers More Info
06/23 7:30PM EST @ Cannons Buy Tickets More Info
06/30 7:30PM EST @ Machine Buy Tickets More Info
07/02 7:30PM EST vs Lizards More Info
07/16 7:00PM EST @ Launch Buy Tickets More Info
07/21 7:30PM EST vs Blaze More Info
07/28 7:30PM EST @ Lizards Buy Tickets More Info
08/06 7:30PM EST @ Hounds Buy Tickets More Info
Sign up to receive the latest MLL news and information.